Afghanistan Squad for T20 World Cup 2022 Announced – Full Player List

On September 15 (Thursday) Afghanistan Cricket Board(ACB) announced their 15 players’ squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, which is starting the next month in Australia.

India, Australia, Bangladesh, England and South Africa has already announced their squad for the upcoming tournament. ICC Men’s World Cup 2022 which is the 8th edition of T20 World Cup series is starting from October 16 to November 13. From the October 16, Qualifer matches for the tournament will be played between 8 teams to confirm their spot in the Super 12.

And the super 12 round will start from the October 22, four top teams from the Qualifer will play Super 12 round with the 8 other qualified teams, these includes India, Australia, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, South Africa and New Zealand.

Afghanistan is already qualified for the Super 12 and placed in Group 1 with other 5 teams, Australia, New Zealand, England, Winner of Group A and Runner up Group B in Qualifers.

Afghanistan Squad for T20 World Cup 2022
Image Credit: Twitter

In the Asia Cup 2022, Afghanistan failed to make their way to the Final after defeats against Sri Lanka, India & Pakistan.

We have picked our best available players — Noor Malikzai

ACB chief selector, Noor Malikzai, said that overall we have picked our best available players in the country. Here is the official statement released by the ACB:

“The Asia Cup was a very good opportunity for the team to buildup things nicely for the much-important global event in Australia. Fortunately, Darwish Rasooli has recovered from injury (broken finger) and we are happy to have him available for the WT20, he has demonstrated good glimpses of him in the previously held Shpageeza Cricket League 2022 and offers an additional batting option to our middle order. 

“Since the Australian conditions offer further support for the fast bowlers, so we have added Salim Safi, the tall right-arm quick to add further impetus to our bowling department. Overall we have picked our best available players for the event and we are hopeful of them to do well and better represent the country in the mega event.”

Noor Malikzai, ACB Chief Selector

Afghanistan Squad For T20 World Cup 2022

Afghanistan squad for T20 World Cup 2022 players list
Image Credit: ACB Twitter Handle

Afghanistan Squad for T20 World Cup 2022: Mohammad Nabi (C), Najibullah Zadran (VC), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Azmatullah Omarzai, Darwish Rasooli, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Mujib ur Rahman, Naveen ul Haq, Qais Ahmad, Rashid Khan, Salim Safi and Usman Ghani. Reserves: Afsar Zazai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Rahmat Shah, Gulbadin Naib.

Of the 17 members team who were part of Asia Cup 2022, Samiullah Shinwari, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Afsar Zazai, Karim Janat and Noor Ahmad have not been selected for the Afghanistan World Cup Squad. Whereas, Darwish Rasooli, Qais Ahmad and Salim Safi have been named in the 15 players’ team.

Also read: India Squad for T20 World Cup 2022

Afghanistan Schedule for T20 World Cup 2022

Afghanistan will play their first match against England on 22 October in Perth Stadium. They have total no. of 5 matches with each team in their group. Here is the complete Afghanistan schedule for T20 World Cup 2022:

Sat 22 OctoberAfghanistan v EnglandPerth Stadium, Perth
Wed 26 OctoberAfghanistan v New ZealandMCG, Melbourne
Fri 28 OctoberAfghanistan v Runner Up Group BMCG, Melbourne
Tue 01 NovemberAfghanistan v Winner Group AThe Gabba, Brisbane
Fri 04 NovemberAfghanistan v AustraliaAdelaide Oval, Adelaide

Also read: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule, Venues, Teams, Points Table

Follow the Cricable for any update about the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022.

Leave a Comment