Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai

Brabourne Stadium
Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai

Brabourne Stadium Information

Ground NameBrabourne Stadium
Named afterLord Brabourne, Governor of Bombay
Ground Capacity20,000
EndsPavilion End, Church Gate End
LocationMumbai, India
Home TeamMumbai

Brabourne Stadium is one of the oldest cricket grounds located in Mumbai, India established in 1937. It is built in British Era. Brabourne Cricket Stadium is the home ground for Mumbai men’s and women’s cricket teams.

This stadium has the capacity of 20,000 people for cricket matches. It is owned by the Cricket Club India (CCI).

Due to constant ticketing disputes with the CCI, the BCA (Bombay Cricket Association) built the famous Wankhade Cricket Stadium around 700 meters away from the Brabourne Stadium.

After that, Brabourne Stadium only used to host first-classes matches and Test matches were played at the Wankhede Stadium. In recent years, International cricket matches made their way back to Brabourne Stadium ICC Champions Trophy in 2006 was played on this ground.

Brabourne Stadium hosted the first international T20 match in 2007. This ground hosted a test match in December 2009 after 36 years. It created the record on that day, the biggest gap between two test matches on the same ground.

ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2013 opening, Super Six and final matches were played at the Brabourne Cricket Stadium.

This stadium was also used by the BCCI for the IPL playoff match between Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings on 29 May 2014. And in IPL 2015, this ground was the secondary home ground of the Rajasthan Royals team.

Brabourne Stadium International Matches Information

First TestIndia vs West Indies9–13 December 1948
Last TestIndia vs Sri Lw2–6 December 2009
First ODIIndia vs Australia23 October 1989
Last ODIIndia vs West Indies29 October 2018
Only T20IIndia vs Australia20 October 2007
First Women ODIIndia vs New Zealand4 December 2003
Last Women ODIAustralia vs West Indies17 February 2013
First Women T20IIndia vs Australia22 March 2018
Last Women T20IAustralia vs England31 March 2018

Brabourne Stadium Records

Highest totals (Test)India 726/9dv Sri Lanka2 Dec 2009
Highest totals (ODI)India 377/5v West Indies29 Oct 2018
Highest totals (T20I)India 167/3v Australia20 Oct 2007
Highest Ind. score (Test)V Sehwag 293v Sri Lanka2 Dec 2009
Highest Ind. score (ODI)Rohit Sharma 162v West Indies29 Oct 2018
Highest Ind. score (T20)Ricky Ponting 76v India20 Oc 2007
Most runs (Test)VS Hazare (INDIA) 629 runs1948 — 1952
Most runs (ODI)Rohit Sharma 162 runs2018 — 2018
Most runs (T20I)Ricky Ponting 76 runs
Best bowling (Test)BS Chandrasekhar (Ind) O: 61.5 W: 7 R: 157v West Indies13 Dec 1966
Best bowling (ODI)MF Maharoof (SL) O: 9 W: 6 R: 14v West Indies14 Oct 2006
Best bowling (T20I)IK Pathan (Ind) O: 4 W: 2 R: 34v Australia20 Oct 2007
Most wickets (Test)BS Chandrasekhar (Ind) 34 wickets1964 — 1973
Most wickets (ODI)MF Maharoof (SL) 7 wickets2006 — 2006
Most wickets (T20I)IK Pathan (Ind) 2 wickets
Source: ESPNCricInfo

CWC 2023: Schedule | Points Table | Most Runs | Most Wickets | Most Sixes |

Leave a Comment