ICC World Cup Winners List From 1975 To 2019

ICC World Cup Winners List From 1975 To 2019:The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup stands as the pinnacle event in the cricketing world, garnering immense global viewership. Held once every four years, the tournament is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

The inaugural edition of the World Cup took place in 1975, hosted by England. Subsequently, England also hosted the following two editions, marking their dominance in organizing the prestigious event. However, in 1987, India and Pakistan jointly played host to the World Cup, a significant milestone that coincided with the reduction of match durations from 60 overs per innings to 50 overs per innings.

In 1992, Australia and New Zealand collaborated as co-hosts, introducing several noteworthy changes to the tournament format. These included the adoption of coloured clothing, the employment of white balls instead of red balls, and the inclusion of day-night matches. The World Cup returned to the subcontinent in 1996, with India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka serving as co-hosts.

Three years later, England once again welcomed the tournament, followed by its debut in Africa in 2003. The West Indies assumed the role of hosts in 2007, bringing the excitement of the World Cup to their shores. In 2011, the event returned to the subcontinent, with India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh sharing hosting responsibilities. Australia and New Zealand co-hosted the World Cup for the second time in 2015, marking a significant gap since their previous collaboration in 1992. Finally, after a span of two decades, England reprised its hosting duties in 2019.

These historical transitions in hosting venues showcase the widespread allure of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, continually captivating cricket enthusiasts worldwide with each edition.

ICC World Cup Winners List:

The history of ICC World Cup winners showcases a diverse range of cricketing triumphs. The inaugural edition in 1975 saw West Indies emerge as the champions, defeating Australia in a thrilling final. West Indies successfully defended their title in 1979, defeating England to claim their second consecutive World Cup victory. However, in 1983, India scripted a historic moment by preventing West Indies from clinching a hat-trick of World Cup wins, securing their maiden championship.

Australia secured their first-ever World Cup triumph in 1987, followed by Pakistan’s sensational victory in 1992. In 1996, Arjuna Ranatunga led Sri Lanka to a remarkable triumph, etching their name in World Cup history. Australia then commenced a period of dominance, clinching three consecutive World Cup titles in 1999, 2003, and 2007 under the captaincy of Ricky Ponting.

The 2011 edition marked a turning point as home teams began asserting their dominance. India became the first-ever host nation to claim the coveted title, sparking celebrations across the country. Australia and England followed suit, triumphing in 2015 and 2019 respectively on their home soil. With five World Cup victories, Australia stands as the most successful team in the tournament’s history.

Apart from Australia, West Indies and India have also secured multiple World Cup titles. Both teams have been crowned champions twice, adding to the richness of their cricketing legacies. Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England complete the list of World Cup winners, each claiming the prestigious trophy on one occasion.

The diverse array of winners exemplifies the fiercely competitive nature of the ICC World Cup, making it a thrilling and highly anticipated tournament for cricket enthusiasts worldwide.

ICC World Cup winners and runner-up list:

1975West IndiesAustralia
1979West IndiesEngland
1983IndiaWest Indies
1996Sri LankaAustralia
2007AustraliaSri Lanka
2011IndiaSri Lanka
2015AustraliaNew Zealand
2019EnglandNew Zealand

Here is a team-wise list showing the performance of the teams who have made it to the World Cup final:

TeamWinnersRunner-upYears WonYears Runner-up
Australia521987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 20151975, 1996
West Indies211975, 19791983
India211983, 20112003
Sri Lanka1219962007, 2011
England1320191979, 1987, 1992
New Zealand022015, 2019

Man of the match in the ICC World Cup Final list:

YearPlayerPerformance Details
1975Clive Lloyd102
1979Viv Richards138*
1983Mohinder Amarnath3/12 and 26
1987David Boon75
1992Wasim Akram33 and 3/49
1996Aravinda de Silva107* and 3/42
1999Shane Warne4/33
2003Ricky Ponting140*
2007Adam Gilchrist149
2011MS Dhoni91*
2015James Faulkner3/36
2019Ben Stokes84* and 0/20

ICC World Cup-Winning Captain List:

Clive Lloyd, the iconic West Indies cricketer, etched his name in history as the trailblazing captain who lifted the prestigious World Cup trophy not once, but twice. In the inaugural edition of the tournament held in 1975, Lloyd guided his team to a glorious victory, setting the stage for a legacy that would endure.

His exceptional leadership skills and unwavering determination were evident once again four years later, as he steered West Indies to another resounding triumph in the 1979 World Cup. To this day, only Lloyd and the esteemed Ricky Ponting share the distinction of captaining their respective teams to more than one World Cup victory.

Their exceptional achievements serve as a testament to their unrivalled ability to inspire and unite their teammates on the grandest stage of international cricket.

ICC World Cup winning captains list:

1975Clive LloydWest Indies
1979Clive LloydWest Indies
1983Kapil DevIndia
1987Allan BorderAustralia
1992Imran KhanPakistan
1996Arjuna RanatungaSri Lanka
1999Steve WaughAustralia
2003Ricky PontingAustralia
2007Ricky PontingAustralia
2011MS DhoniIndia
2015Michael ClarkeAustralia
2019Eoin MorganEngland

CWC 2023: Schedule | Points Table | Most Runs | Most Wickets | Most Sixes |

Leave a Comment