IPL 2008 Final Match Scorecard: RR Won First IPL Trophy

IPL 2008 Final Match

IPL 2008 Final Scorecard Summary

Date1 June 2008
TeamsRajasthan Royals vs Chennai Super Kings
Match NoFinal Match
VenueDY Patil Stadium, Mumbai
TossRR won the toss and elected to field first
UmpiresBilly Bowden, Rudi Koertzen
Third EmpireDaryl Harper
ScoreCSK: 163/5 (20 overs)
RR: 164/7 (20 overs)
ResultRR won by 3 wickets
Player of the MatchYusuf Pathan (RR)

IPL 2008 Final Match Scorecard: In 2008, Indian Premier League was introduced. Eight teams and hundreds of players from around the world came to participate in the league. IPL 2008 was started on April 18, 2008, with the first match between Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders at Eden Gardens.

Four teams; Rajasthan Royals, Chennai Super Kings, Kings XI Punjab and Delhi Daredevils qualified for the playoffs stage of the tournament. Rajasthan defeated Delhi by 105 runs in the 1st semi-finals and became the finalist and Chennai defeated Punjab by 9 wickets and reach the finals.

IPL 2008 final match was played between Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings on 1 June 2008 at DY Patil Stadium, Mumbai.

Also read: IPL 2023 Schedule, Teams, Format, Venues, PDF, Time Table

RR vs CSK IPL 2008 Final

Chennai Super Kings Innings

Parthiv Patel
c Kamran Akmal b Pathan
Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan
c Jadeja b Pathan
Suresh Raina
c Jadeja b Watson
Albie Morkel
c Kamran Akmal b Pathan
MS Dhoni
not out
Chamara Kapugedera
c Asnodkar b Sohail Tanvir
S Badrinath
not out
Extras7 (b 1, lb 2, w 3, nb 1, p 0)
Total163 (5 wkts, 20 Ov)
Did not batManpreet Gony, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Muttiah Muralitharan, Makhaya Ntini

IPL 2008 Final Scorecard: CSK Fall of Wickets

Fall of Wickets
39-1 (V Sivaramakrishnan, 5.2), 64-2 (Parthiv Patel, 8.6), 95-3 (Albie Morkel, 12.4), 128-4 (Raina, 16.2), 148-5 (Kapugedera, 19.1)

RR vs CSK IPL Final Match: RR Bowlers

Sohail Tanvir404010110.00
Shane Watson40291117.25
Munaf Patel20140017.00
Siddharth Trivedi202100010.50
Sunil Narine40262016.50
Shane Warne40340018.50

Also read: IPL 2020 Final Match Scorecard

Rajasthan Royals Innings

Niraj Patel
b Gony
Swapnil Asnodkar
c Raina b Morkel
Kamran Akmal
run out (Ntini)
Shane Watson
b Muralitharan
Yusuf Pathan
run out (Raina)
Mohammad Kaif
c Dhoni b Muralitharan
Ravindra Jadeja
c Kapugedera b Morkel
Shane Warne
not out
Sohail Tanvir
not out
Extras14 (b 1, lb 6, w 5, nb 2, p 0)
Total164 (7 wkts, 20 Ov)
Did not batSiddharth Trivedi, Munaf Patel

IPL 2008 Final Scorecard: RR Fall of Wickets

Fall of Wickets
19-1 (Niraj Patel, 3.1), 41-2 (S Asnodkar, 6.1), 42-3 (Kamran Akmal, 6.4), 107-4 (Watson, 14.1), 139-5 (M Kaif, 16.6), 139-6 (Ravindra Jadeja, 17.1), 143-7 (Yusuf Pathan, 17.4)

RR vs CSK IPL 2008 Final Match: CSK Bowlers

Makhaya Ntini41210005.25
Manpreet Gony40301007.50
Albie Morkel40252236.25
Lakshmipathy Balaji404200110.50
Muttiah Muralitharan40392009.75

Also read: IPL 2022 Final Match Scorecard

Leave a Comment