IPL 2023: Abhishek Porel will replace Rishabh Pant

Abhishek Porel will replace Rishabh Pant: IPL 2023 will begin on 31 March 2023 with the opening match at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad between Gujarat Titans vs Chennai Super Kings. Gujarat Titans are the defending champions of this season, they won the IPL 2022 after defeating the Rajasthan Royals in the final match at their home ground.

In a first-of-its-kind move in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL), franchises are now allowed to replace injured players in their squad ahead of the tournament. In response to this new rule, the Delhi Capitals have announced that Abhishek Porel will replace Rishabh Pant in the upcoming season of the IPL.

Who Is Abhishek Porel?

Abhishek Porel

Abhishek Porel is a left-handed wicketkeeper-batsman who currently plays for Bengal in domestic cricket. He has been in good form in the Ranji Trophy, which caught the attention of the Delhi Capitals’ scout. After careful consideration and discussions, the franchise decided to bring in Abhishek Porel as a replacement for Rishabh Pant.

Abhishek Porel’s inclusion in the squad will provide a like-for-like replacement, as he is also a left-handed wicketkeeper-batsman. Despite not having much experience in T20 cricket, Abhishek has shown promise as a wicketkeeper, having taken 58 catches in just 16 first-class matches. His youth and energy will also add to the Delhi Capitals’ squad, which will undoubtedly boost their chances in the upcoming season.

Rishabh Pant Needs Time for his Recovery

Rishabh Pant, the current captain of the Delhi Capitals, had a severe injury on December 30, 2022, which raised concerns about his availability for the IPL 2023 season.

Rishabh met with a car accident on 30 December 2022 when going back to his home in Dehradun. The doctor suggested he get complete rest for 7 to 8 months and this made him away from Cricket as well.

The 16th edition of the IPL is set to start on March 31, 2023, with the Delhi Capitals’ first match scheduled against the Lucknow Super Giants in April 2023. With the inclusion of Abhishek Porel, the team will be looking to make a strong start to their campaign.

Overall, Abhishek Porel’s inclusion in the Delhi Capitals’ squad is an exciting addition, and fans will be eager to see him perform in the upcoming season of the IPL. The franchise has made a bold move in bringing in a young player to replace their captain, and only time will tell if it pays off.

Delhi Capitals Squad for IPL 2023

David Warner(C), Prithvi Shaw, Mitchell Marsh, Abhishek Porel(Wk), Manish Pandey, Rovman Powell, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Khaleel Ahmed, Chetan Sakariya,Rilee Rossouw, Mukesh Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Phil Salt, Ripal Patel, Sarfaraz Khan, Yash Dhull, Lalit Yadav, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Lungi Ngidi, Mustafizur Rahman, Aman Khan, Praveen Dubey, Vicky Ostwal.

Also read: Delhi Capitals Schedule for IPL 2023, All matches list with venues

CWC 2023: Schedule | Points Table | Most Runs | Most Wickets | Most Sixes |

Leave a Comment