Lucknow Super Giants vs Punjab Kings, 21st Match IPL 2023 – Live Cricket Score, Commentary

Lucknow Super Giants vs Punjab Kings, 21st Match IPL 2023 Summary

Date15 April 2023
MatchLSG vs PBKS, 21st Match, Indian Premier League 2023
TeamsLucknow Super Giants vs Punjab Kings
CaptainsKL Rahul (LSG) & Sam Curran (PBKS)
Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow
TossPunjab Kings won the toss and opt to bowl
First Innings Score159-8 (20 Ov)
UmpiresSaiyed Khalid, Virender Sharma
Third UmpireTapan Sharma
LSG Playing XIKL Rahul (c), Kyle Mayers, Deepak Hooda, Marcus Stoinis, Krunal Pandya, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Ayush Badoni, Avesh Khan, Yudhvir Singh Charak, Mark Wood, Ravi Bishnoi
PBKS Playing XIAtharva Taide, Matthew Short, Harpreet Singh Bhatia, Sikandar Raza, Sam Curran (c), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Shahrukh Khan, Harpreet Brar, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh
Player of the matchSikandar Raza
ResultPunjab Kings won by 2 Wkts

Lucknow Super Giants vs Punjab Kings, 21st Match IPL 2023 Scorecard: In the 21st match of the IPL 2023 season, the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) faced off against the Punjab Kings (PBKS) at the Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow.

LSG won the toss and elected to bat first, with skipper KL Rahul leading from the front with a blistering knock of 74 runs off 56 balls, which included eight boundaries and one six. However, the rest of the LSG batting line-up struggled against a disciplined PBKS bowling attack, with only Kyle Mayers (29) and Krunal Pandya (18) making meaningful contributions. LSG eventually finished their innings on 159 for 8 in their allotted 20 overs.

PBKS started their chase disastrously, losing their first two wickets for just four runs, both to Yudhvir Singh. However, they recovered well with a solid partnership between Matthew Short (34) and Harpreet Singh Bhatia (22). The game was in the balance until the 18th over when Sikandar Raza smashed Ravi Bishnoi for three consecutive sixes to shift the momentum in PBKS’ favor. Raza was eventually dismissed for a brilliant 57 off 41 balls, but his innings had done enough to set PBKS up for victory. Shahrukh Khan hit the winning runs in the penultimate over as PBKS won the match by two wickets with three balls to spare.

PBKS’ victory was largely due to their disciplined bowling, with Sam Curran (3-31) and Kagiso Rabada (2-34) being the pick of the bowlers. Ravi Bishnoi (2-23) also bowled well for LSG, but it wasn’t enough to prevent PBKS from securing the win. Sikandar Raza was awarded the Player of the Match award for his match-winning knock.

Overall, it was a thrilling encounter between two competitive teams, with PBKS eventually coming out on top in a close-fought contest.

Lucknow Super Giants Innings

KL Rahul (C)
c (sub)Nathan Ellis b Arshdeep Singh
Kyle Mayers
c Harpreet Singh b Harpreet Brar
Deepak Hooda
lbw b Raza
Krunal Pandya
c Shahrukh Khan b Rabada
Nicholas Pooran
c Shahrukh Khan b Rabada
Marcus Stoinis
c Jitesh Sharma b Sam Curran
Ayush Badoni
not out
Krishnappa Gowtham
c Raza b Sam Curran
Yudhvir Singh
c Shahrukh Khan b Sam Curran
Ravi Bishnoi
not out
Extras12 (b 0, lb 5, w 6, nb 1, p 0)
Total159 (8 wkts, 20 Ov)
Did not batAvesh Khan , Mark Wood

LSG vs PBKS 21st Match IPL 2023: PBKS Fall of Wickets

Fall of Wickets
53-1 (K Mayers, 7.4), 62-2 (Deepak Hooda, 8.4), 110-3 (Krunal Pandya, 14.2), 111-4 (Pooran, 14.3), 142-5 (Stoinis, 17.5), 150-6 (Rahul, 18.4), 154-7 (K Gowtham, 19.3), 154-8 (Yudhvir Singh, 19.4)

LSG vs PBKS 21st Match IPL 2023: PBKS Bowlers

Matthew Short20100005.00
Arshdeep Singh30221017.30
Kagiso Rabada40342028.50
Sam Curran (c)40313027.80
Harpreet Brar20101005.00
Sikandar Raza20191109.50
Rahul Chahar30280019.30

Punjab Kings Innings

Atharva Taide
c Avesh Khan b Yudhvir Singh
Prabhsimran Singh
b Yudhvir Singh
Matthew Short
c Stoinis b K Gowtham
Harpreet Singh Bhatia
c Yudhvir Singh b Krunal Pandya
Sikandar Raza
c Stoinis b Ravi Bishnoi
Sam Curran (c)
c Krunal Pandya b Ravi Bishnoi
Jitesh Sharma (wk)
c Rahul b Mark Wood
Shahrukh Khan
not out
Harpreet Brar
c Pooran b Mark Wood
Kagiso Rabada
not out
Extras7 (b 0, lb 2, w 5, nb 0, p 0)
Total161 (8 wkts, 19.3 Ov)
Did not batRahul Chahar , Arshdeep Singh

LSG vs PBKS IPL 2023 21st Match: LSG Fall of Wickets

Fall of Wickets
0-1 (Atharva Taide, 0.3), 17-2 (Prabhsimran Singh, 2.2), 45-3 (Matthew Short, 5.6), 75-4 (Harpreet Singh Bhatia, 10.6), 112-5 (Sam Curran, 14.3), 122-6 (Jitesh Sharma, 15.5), 139-7 (Sikandar Raza, 17.5), 153-8 (Harpreet Brar, 18.5)

Lucknow Super Giants vs Punjab Kings 21st Match IPL 2023: LSG Bowlers

Yudhvir Singh Charak30192006.30
Avesh Khan30240018.00
Mark Wood40352028.80
Krishnappa Gowtham40311017.80
Krunal Pandya303210010.70
Ravi Bishnoi2.30182017.20

CWC 2023: Schedule | Points Table | Most Runs | Most Wickets | Most Sixes |

Leave a Comment