Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders, 22nd Match IPL 2023 – Live Cricket Score, Commentary

Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders, 22nd Match IPL 2023 Summary

Date16 April 2023
MI vs KKR, 22nd Match, Indian Premier League 2023
TeamsMumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders
CaptainsRohit Sharma (MI) & Nitish Rana (KKR)
Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
MI won the toss and opt to bowl
First Innings Score185-6 (20 Ov)
Bruce Oxenford, Ulhas Gandhe
Third UmpireJayaraman Madanagopal
MI Playing XIIshan Kishan (wk), Cameron Green, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (c), Tim David, Nehal Wadhera, Arjun Tendulkar, Hrithik Shokeen, Piyush Chawla, Duan Jansen, Riley Meredith
KKR Playing XIRahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, N Jagadeesan, Nitish Rana (c), Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Varun Chakaravarthy
Player of the matchVenkatesh Iyer
ResultMumbai Indians won by 5 wkts

Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders, 22nd Match IPL 2023 Scorecard: Sure, there’s a match summary for the IPL 2023 game between Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders:

In a high-scoring match, Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and elected to bat first. However, their start was not ideal as they lost opener Rahmanullah Gurbaz and N Jagadeesan cheaply. Venkatesh Iyer then took charge and played an exceptional knock, scoring 104 runs off just 51 balls with the help of 6 fours and 9 sixes. Rinku Singh (18) and Andre Russell (21*) also made useful contributions as KKR posted a formidable total of 185/6 in their 20 overs. For MI, Hrithik Shokeen (2/34) and Duan Jansen (1/53) were the pick of the bowlers.

In response, MI got off to a solid start with skipper Rohit Sharma (20) and Ishan Kishan (58) putting on a quickfire partnership of 65 runs. Suryakumar Yadav (43) and Tilak Varma (30) also played crucial knocks, while Tim David (24) provided the late flourish. In the end, MI chased down the target with 14 balls to spare, finishing on 186/5. Suyash Sharma (2/27) was the only bowler to take more than one wicket for KKR, while Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakaravarthy, and Lockie Ferguson picked up a wicket each.

Overall, it was an exciting match with both teams displaying some brilliant batting. However, it was MI who emerged victorious, thanks to some excellent contributions from their top order.

Kolkata Knight Riders Innings

Rahmanullah Gurbaz

c Duan Jansen b Chawla
N Jagadeesan
c Hrithik Shokeen b Green
Venkatesh Iyer
c (sub)Ramandeep Singh b Hrithik Shokeen
Nitish Rana (c)
b Suyash Sharma
Shardul Thakur
c Tilak Varma b Hrithik Shokeen
Rinku Singh
c Nehal Wadhera b Duan Jansen
Andre Russell
not out
Sunil Narine
not out
Extras14 (b 0, lb 2, w 12, nb 0, p 0)
Total185 (6 wkts, 20 Ov)
Did not batUmesh , Lockie Ferguson , Chakaravarthy , Suyash SharmaR

MI vs KKR 22nd Match IPL 2023: MI Fall of Wickets

Fall of Wickets
11-1 (N Jagadeesan, 1.5), 57-2 (Gurbaz, 5.3), 73-3 (Nitish Rana, 8.1), 123-4 (Thakur, 12.5), 159-5 (Venkatesh Iyer, 17.2), 172-6 (Rinku Singh, 18.5)

MIvs KKR 22nd Match IPL 2023: MI Bowlers

Arjun Tendulkar20170018.50
Cameron Green202010610.00
Duan Jansen405310413.20
Piyush Chawla40191004.80
Hrithik Shokeen40342018.50
Riley Meredith404010010.00

Mumbai Indians Innings

Rohit Sharma
c Umesh b Suyash Sharma
Ishan Kishan (wk)
b Chakaravarthy
Suryakumar Yadav (c)
c Gurbaz b Thakur
Tilak Varma
b Suyash Sharma
Tim David
b Suyash Sharma
Nehal Wadhera
c Gurbaz b Lockie Ferguson
Cameron Green
not out
Extras4 (b 0, lb 0, w 4, nb 0, p 0)
Total186 (5 wkts, 17.4 Ov)
Did not batArjun Tendulkar, Hrithik Shokeen, Piyush Chawla, Duan Jansen, Riley Meredith

MI vs KKR IPL 2023 22nd Match: KKR Fall of Wickets

Fall of Wickets
65-1 (Rohit Sharma, 4.5), 87-2 (Ishan Kishan, 7.3), 147-3 (Tilak Varma, 13.5), 176-4 (Suryakumar Yadav, 16.3), 184-5 (Nehal Wadhera, 17.2)

Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders 22nd Match IPL 2023: KKR Bowlers

Umesh Yadav20190009.50
Shardul Thakur202510112.50
Sunil Narine304100213.70
Suyash Sharma40272006.80
Varun Chakaravarthy40381019.50
Lockie Ferguson1.401910011.40
Andre Russell101700017.00

CWC 2023: Schedule | Points Table | Most Runs | Most Wickets | Most Sixes |

Leave a Comment