Mumbai Indians vs Punjab Kings, 31st Match – Live Cricket Score, Commentary

Mumbai Indians vs Punjab Kings, 31st MatchIPL 2023 Summary

Date22 April 2023
MatchMI vs PBKS 31st Match, Indian Premier League 2023
TeamsMumbai Indians vs Punjab Kings
CaptainsRohit Sharma (GT) &Sam Curran(PBKS)
VenueWankhede Stadium, Mumbai
TossMI won the toss and opt to bowl
First Innings Score214-8 (20 Ov)
UmpiresChris Gaffaney, Sadashiv Iyer
Third UmpireAnil Chaudhary
MI Playing XIRohit Sharma (c), Ishan Kishan (wk), Cameron Green, Suryakumar Yadav, Tim David, Tilak Varma, Arjun Tendulkar, Hrithik Shokeen, Jofra Archer, Piyush Chawla, Jason Behrendorff
PBKS Playing XIAtharva Taide, Prabhsimran Singh, Matthew Short, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran (c), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Harpreet Singh Bhatia, Shahrukh Khan, Harpreet Brar, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh
Player of the matchSam Curran
ResultPunjab Kings won by 13 runs

Mumbai Indians vs Punjab Kings, 31st Match IPL 2023 Scorecard: The 31st match of IPL 2023 between Mumbai Indians (MI) and Punjab Kings (PBKS) witnessed a high-scoring affair with both teams putting up impressive performances with the bat.

Punjab Kings won the toss and elected to bat first. Matthew Short (11 runs) and Prabhsimran Singh (26 runs) provided a decent start, but it was Atharva Taide’s quickfire 29 runs off 17 balls, including three fours and a six, that accelerated the innings. Liam Livingstone (10 runs) and Harpreet Singh (41 runs) contributed valuable runs, while Sam Curran played a sensational captain’s knock. Curran smashed 55 runs off just 29 balls, hitting five fours and four sixes. Jitesh Sharma’s blitz of 25 runs off 7 balls, including four sixes, powered PBKS to a formidable total of 214 runs for the loss of 8 wickets in their allotted 20 overs.

In response, Mumbai Indians got off to a shaky start as Ishan Kishan departed early for just 1 run. However, Rohit Sharma anchored the innings with a classy knock of 44 runs off 27 balls, including four fours and three sixes. Cameron Green played a crucial role with a well-made 67 runs off 43 balls, including six fours and three sixes. Suryakumar Yadav provided the fireworks with a quickfire 57 runs off 26 balls, smashing seven fours and three sixes. Tim David (25 runs not out) contributed valuable runs towards the end. Arshdeep Singh was the pick of the bowlers for PBKS, claiming four wickets, while Nathan Ellis picked up one wicket. Despite losing a few quick wickets towards the end, Mumbai Indians managed to chase down the target with 5 balls to spare, finishing at 201 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in 20 overs.

Mumbai Indians’ victory was a result of their strong batting performance, with Cameron Green, Suryakumar Yadav, and Rohit Sharma playing crucial roles. Arshdeep Singh’s four-wicket haul for Punjab Kings went in vain.

In the end, Mumbai Indians won the match by 4 wickets, showcasing their batting prowess and chasing abilities. Cameron Green was awarded the Player of the Match for his excellent all-round performance.

The match provided an entertaining display of power-hitting and thrilling moments, keeping the fans on the edge of their seats throughout the innings.

Punjab Kings Innings

Matthew Short
c Chawla b Green
Prabhsimran Singh
lbw b Arjun Tendulkar
Atharva Taide
b Chawla
Liam Livingstone
st Ishan Kishan b Chawla
Harpreet Singh
b Green
Sam Curran (c)
c and b Jofra Archer
Jitesh Sharma (wk)
b Behrendorff
Shahrukh Khan
not out
Harpreet Brar
run out (Tilak Varma/Ishan Kishan)
Extras12 (b 0, lb 3, w 7, nb 2, p 0)
Total214 (8 wkts, 20 Ov)
Did not batRahul Chahar , Arshdeep Singh , Nathan Ellis

MI vs PBKS 31st Match IPL 2023: MI Fall of Wickets

Fall of Wickets
18-1 (Matthew Short, 2.3), 65-2 (Prabhsimran, 6.4), 82-3 (Livingstone, 9.1), 83-4 (Atharva Taide, 9.4), 175-5 (Harpreet Singh, 17.4), 197-6 (Sam Curran, 18.6), 209-7 (Jitesh Sharma, 19.4), 214-8 (Harpreet Brar, 20)

MI vs PBKS 31st Match IPL 2023: MI Bowlers

Arjun Tendulkar304811416.00
Jason Behrendorff304110113.70
Cameron Green404120010.20
Jofra Archer404210110.50
Piyush Chawla30152015.00
Hrithik Shokeen30240108.00

Mumbai Indians Innings

Rohit Sharma (c)
c and b Livingstone
Ishan Kishan (wk)
c Matthew Short b Arshdeep Singh
Cameron Green
c Sam Curran b Nathan Ellis
Suryakumar Yadav
c Atharva Taide b Arshdeep Singh
Tim David
not out
Tilak Varma
b Arshdeep Singh
Nehal Wadhera
b Arshdeep Singh
Jofra Archer
not out
Extras3 (b 0, lb 0, w 3, nb 0, p 0)
Total201 (6 wkts, 20 Ov)
Did not batArjun Tendulkar , Hrithik Shokeen , Piyush Chawla , Jason Behrendorff

MI vs PBKS IPL 2023 31st Match: PBKS Fall of Wickets

Fall of Wickets
8-1 (Ishan Kishan, 1.1), 84-2 (Rohit Sharma, 9.3), 159-3 (Cameron Green, 15.3), 182-4 (Suryakumar Yadav, 17.4), 200-5 (Tilak Varma, 19.3), 200-6 (Nehal Wadhera, 19.4)

Mumbai Indians vs Punjab Kings 31st Match IPL 2023: PBKS Bowlers

Matthew Short1070017.00
Arshdeep Singh40294017.20
Harpreet Brar20150007.50
Sam Curran (c)304100113.70
Nathan Ellis404410011.00
Rahul Chahar404200010.50
Liam Livingstone202310011.50

CWC 2023: Schedule | Points Table | Most Runs | Most Wickets | Most Sixes |

Leave a Comment